number of
employees
Grizzly has a staff of over 65 during the peak season and provides employees with an opportunity t otake part in various training sessions, pursue their studies, and take French languages courses.
Number of
square feet
Grizzly’s ultramodern 16,500 sq. ft. plant is the only one in North America with its own unique high-precision automatic slicer.
Sales
in Quebec
Grizzly is a leader in smoked salmon sales in Quebec and has made its mark on the Quebec market.
Grizzly is one of the five larges
Smokehouses in Canada
Our new production management system and the efficiency of our staff enable us to produce up to 1,800 kg of finished product per shift.
<

A constantly
growing plant

Fumoir Grizzly has grown quickly from two to 65 employees, but always with people in mind and an ongoing concern for our employees. A few highlights

 

New plant

Opening of a brand new, ultramodern 16, 500 sq. ft. plant in the Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures industrial park, near Quebec City. This initiative cemented Grizzly's position as leader of the smoking industry in Canada.

2003
 

Acquisition of an automatic slicer

Acquisition of a one-of-a-kind, custom-design an automatic slicer.

2006
 

Computerized production line

Integration of a state-of-the-art computerized production line. Unique in North America, it was designed in France to meet the company's specific neeeds.

2007

Today

Grizzly is proud to work in partnership with some of the most prestigious research and education institutions in the country and the world to contribute to public health. This scientific collaboration has led to significant progress in the safety and storage of the products we offer.
At Fumoir Grizzly we continue to modernize our equipment, increase our production capacity, and create new products to maintain our position as leader. With our state-of-the-art facilities, we maintain a sense of authenticity and desire to preserve time-honored methods. Of course, we’re still firmly committed to offering healthy, tasty products!
At Grizzly, every employee is made aware of the importance of compliance with the requirements of various certifications and is trained in this regard. Team leaders are highly qualified and can rely on support from management at all times.
Grizzly applies HACCP standards, which consist of analyzing the risk of contamination associated with the consumption of seafood products, to determine the critical control points that establish the critical limits and putting in place the most efficient monitoring system possible to ensure these points are controlled.

Grizzly has SQF Level 2 certification (7th edition). The Safe Quality Food (SQF) code, recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI), is based on various risks according to the type of production carried out. Grizzly cares about the impact that a company can have on the environment. That’s why we use only fish from sustainable fisheries, as evidenced by the Alaska Seafood certification for our wild salmon and the BAP certification for our farmed salmon.
We have specialized in cold smoking for over 24 years. Our technique and the selection of our raw material enable us to offer moist and tender fish.
First, our fish are cured in our homemade blend of spices to release their aroma. We then brush them with Quebec pure maple syrup to give them a slightly sweet touch and prevent the salt from penetrating the flesh too deeply. To complete processing, we smoke them over maple wood for 24 to 36 hours to give them a unique flavor.
The result is an exclusive healthy product very low in sodium that is smoked by our dedicated artisans using our time-honored method.

OUR COMMITMENT

Fumoir Grizzly has only one priority:
Fumoir Grizzly has only one priority: to make every one of our products destined for the market the best in its category. With this in mind, Grizzly uses only top quality ingredients and chooses only suppliers that agree to comply with our strict quality and safety standards.

Le nombre
d'employés
Employant plus de 65 personnes pendant la haute saison, Grizzly donne la possibilité à ses employés de participer à diverses formations, de poursuivre leurs études et de recevoir des cours de francisation.
Le nombre
de pieds carrés
Avec plus de 16 500 pieds carrés, Grizzly dispose d'une usine ultramoderne, la seule en Amérique à posséder son trancheur automatique unique, de très grande précision.
Les ventes
au Québec
Leader dans les ventes de saumon fumé au Québec, Grizzly a su faire sa place sur le marché québécois.
Grizzly est un des cinq plus
grands fumoirs
au Canada
Avec le nouveau système de gestion de la production et l'efficience de nos employés nous permet de produire jusqu'à 1800 kg de produits finis par quart de travail.

Une usine en constante
évolution

De 2 employés à 65, Fumoir Grizzly s’est développée rapidement,
mais toujours à échelle humaine, avec un souci constant de
ses employés. Quelques faits marquants.

 

NOUVELLE USINE

Inauguration de la toute nouvelle usine ultramoderne de 16 500 pieds carrés, située dans le parc industriel de Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, à proximité de Québec. Cette initiative confirme la position de Grizzly en tant que leader de l’industrie du fumage au Canada.

2003
 

ACQUISITION D’UN TRANCHEUR AUTOMATISÉ

Acquisition d’un trancheur automatisé unique en son genre, conçu et réalisé sur mesure.

2006
 

CHAÎNE DE PRODUCTION INFORMATISÉE

Intégration d’une chaîne de production informatisée à la fine pointe de la technologie. Unique en Amérique, elle a été conçue en France pour répondre précisément aux besoins de l’entreprise.

2007

Aujourd'hui

Grizzly est fière de collaborer à titre de partenaire avec certaines des plus prestigieuses institutions de recherche et d’enseignement à l’échelle nationale et internationale afin de contribuer à la santé publique. Cette collaboration scientifique permet des avancées notables dans le domaine de la conservation et de l’innocuité des produits offerts.
Fumoir Grizzly ne cesse de moderniser ses équipements, d’augmenter sa capacité de production et de créer de nouveaux produits pour conserver sa position de leader. Avec ses installations à la fine pointe de la technologie, l’entreprise conserve un souci d’authenticité et la volonté de préserver les méthodes ancestrales. Et bien sûr, elle veille toujours à offrir des produits santé et savoureux!
Chez Grizzly, chaque employé est sensibilisé à l’importance de respecter les exigences liées aux différentes certifications et est formé en ce sens. Les chefs d’équipe, eux, sont plus que qualifiés et peuvent en tout temps compter sur le soutien de la direction.
Grizzly applique les normes HACCP. Elles consistent à analyser le risque de contamination lié à la consommation des produits de la mer pour déterminer des points de contrôle critiques qui en établiront les limites critiques, et de se munir d’un système de surveillance le plus efficace possible permettant la maîtrise de ces points.

Grizzly est accréditée SQF niveau 2 (7e édition). Ce code, reconnu par l’organisme mondial GFSI, est la marque d’un système de sécurité alimentaire basé sur les différents risques selon le type de production effectuée. Grizzly se soucie de l’incidence qu’une entreprise peut avoir sur l’environnement. C’est pourquoi nous nous procurons des poissons provenant de la pêche durable, comme en font foi les accréditations Alaska Seafood pour notre saumon sauvage et BAP pour notre saumon d’élevage.
Nous sommes spécialisés dans le fumage à froid depuis plus de 24 ans. Notre technique et la sélection de notre matière première nous permettent d'offrir des poissons tendres et moelleux.
Nos poissons sont saumurés dans notre mélange d’épices maison afin de libérer leur arôme. Nous les badigeonnons ensuite de sirop d’érable pur du Québec pour leur donner une touche légèrement sucrée et pour empêcher le sel de trop pénétrer la chair. Nous laissons enfin la fumée unique du bois d’érable parachever, pour une période allant de 24 à 36 heures, la transformation de nos produits.
Résultat : un aliment unique et santé, affichant un taux de sodium très bas, fumé selon notre recette ancestrale par nos artisans dévoués.

NOTRE ENGAGEMENT

Fumoir Grizzly n’a qu’une priorité :
Que chacun de ses produits destinés au marché soit le meilleur de sa catégorie. Dans cette optique, Grizzly n’utilise que des ingrédients de la plus haute qualité et choisit seulement des fournisseurs qui s’engagent à respecter ses normes strictes en matière de qualité et de sécurité.